top of page

Twix Brownies...Need I say more?

Mom, Misty, and I went to the movies today to celebrate Mom's birthday. While we were in the theater and the adds for insurance companies and soda were playing across the screen, I began to hum the familiar song of "Let's all go to the Lobby." Yes, you know the one. I am sure images of dancing bags of popcorn and drinks along with chocolate bars singing in harmony with licorice are now playing out in your mind. As a kid, when I was watching a movie at the Park Theater in Augusta, I often wondered if a party of refreshments was happening out in the lobby and why I wasn't invited. I would often use the restroom to spy on the goodies but, much to my dismay, everything was where it should be. The butter popcorn was encased in its see through entrapment and the candies of Chuckles and Switzer Licorice were resting peacefully on their tiered rack, with not so much as a napkin out of place.

Going low carb has been fine for me, but once that song played in my head, I began thinking of Reeses, M&Ms, and yes, Twix. Peanut Butter Twix was always my Achilles Heel when I built up a healthy appetite at Roller World on Saturday nights. Mom would give us money for one snack and Roller World had the machine that housed the Peanut Butter Twix, which was a total score since most of the stores failed to carry this prized candy. When the Couple's Skate began, I would head to the vending machine and savor every bit of it while all the beautiful people circled the rink hand in hand... or if they were really good, one would skate backwards...a skill I perfected in my driveway, thinking that this would make me more desirable for the next Couple's Skate. Now, please don't feel sorry for me, I don't have a low opinion of myself, I was just a fierce tomboy and saw no need for makeup nor applying a comb to my hair at that point in time. I was ten and more time in front of the mirror meant less time outside.

But enough for a stroll down memory lane. Once Mom, Misty, and I said our good-byes, an idea came to me. I wanted to make brownies (one of my favorite desserts) and combine it with a Twix like candy bar. I decided not to add the peanut butter as I have already posted chocolate and peanut butter a bit ago with the pie. I'm not against a revival here, but I am branching out and wanted to share a bit of this deliciousness for you.

These are attractive and yummy. Okay, I did have a small piece of an end and I am giving these a thumbs up.

Twix Brownies

Ingredients

For the Brownies:

1 cup butter

2 cups sugar

4 large eggs, room temp

1 tsp vanilla

3/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 1/4 all purpose flour

Preheat oven to 350* and line a 9x13 pan with foil. Grease the foil.

Cream butter and sugar. Add eggs and vanilla. Add dry ingredients and mix. Pour batter into pan and bake for 25-30 minutes until toothpick comes out clean. Completely cool.

ShortBread Layer

1 box of Lorna Doone's shortbread cookies. There are usually 10 packages in the box.

8 oz cream cheese

1/2 cup sugar.

Crush cookies in blender or processor. Add the cream cheese and sugar. Mix. Press mix on top of cool brownies

Caramel Layer

1 11 oz bag of caramel bits and 2 TBSPS heavy whipping cream. Pour on top of shortbread layer. Place in fridge for until the caramel is firm.

Chocolate Layer

1 Bag Milk Chocolate Chips

1 TBSP shortening.

Melt over saucepan and then pour over caramel layer. Place in fridge until

cool and cut into squares.

One bite of these and one might come to forget that they were never chosen for Couple's Skate but always one of the first girls chosen for a darn good game of Dodge Ball.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page