top of page

My Virtual Valentine's to You!

I'm not much for Valentine's Day. Never have been and I don't think I ever will. It must have been evident to others. When I tried out for a high school play, they gave me a monologue about a girl that despises the holiday...that is until she gets a Valentine. Then, she is overjoyed and runs into the arms of the one that gives it to her. I was acting, folks. I still don't love Valentine's Day. And I am going to tell you why. You might agree or disagree with me and I can totally respect you for whatever your choice but before you consider me the unofficial Grinch of hearts shaped boxes of chocolates and that obscene little chubby cherub that shoots us with arrows, I would like to explain.

No, this dislike did not come from a deeply rooted past of not receiving Valentine's Day cards in elementary or carnations in high school, although, if I am to be honest, my heart did tighten a bit and my palms became sweaty over the stress of not receiving any. Such humility for a seven year old let alone a teenage girl. Thanks to my good friends, they never left me out. Thanks, Friends!!! But it is this feeling that I am talking about that makes me want to take Cupid's Arrow out of his doughy hand and break it across my knee then scratch the day right off the calendar.

It's the forcefulness to do something for those that you love that turns me away. Shouldn't we be doing this everyday? In a world such as the one that we live in, hearing about the awfulness is only one push of a button away. We could drown in it, if we let it. We rarely see on our newsfeed something that gives us the giggles and leaves us feeling that we live in a world that is good and just. But I know it can happen. We just have to look for it, seize it, and revel in it. It can be harder some days than others, especially when we are just plain worn down from work, after a spat with a spouse, or life in general but that is when you need something good most of all.

So, you know what I did? I made sugar cookies. It made me happy, my husband happy, and even the dogs when I gave them the last piece of the dough. While I was baking away, my mind wandered as it does in most everything I do but it went to a good place. It made me think of what I want for all the people in this world.

I want for the abuse to stop whether it be on humans, animals or our environment. We are all in this together and we all play a part. Stop tearing it down!

I want for all of us to find passion in a single moment of a day. Wouldn't that be awesome? It could be in what you are doing or who you are with, but the important thing is to recognize it.

I want people to know that they are special the way they are. No two people are the same. You are unique and know that, take it in because it is not just for others to see but for you to feel. Own it because you are the only that can. (Secret...I used to hate my freckles, and I mean hate them, but you know what? They are me and without them, I wouldn't be me. Bring on the sun, I say.)

I want for everyone to know that they matter. Wouldn't it be something to know how much? The reality is that you touch a person's life and might not even know it and someone touches yours. Wouldn't that be something if we did more telling?

I think we should just do it!! I had the wonderful opportunity provided to me by my employer to attend Catalyst University. It was unbelievable. One of the speakers was Hannah Brencher and her speech gripped my heart and wouldn't let go. She might still have a part of it. Ms. Brencher is the founder of The World Needs More Love Letters. It was founded because she was on the subway and saw a woman with a sadness so profound that she was compelled to write her a letter in hopes to make her at least see one bright part of the day. Now, her company receives stories of people braving the impossible and she puts the call out and strangers that these people have never met, receive letters of enouragement and support.

So, here is what I propose. Believe me, this is not a shameless plug for my blog. My blog is more therapeutic for me than anything else but I would love for you to share this link with someone that has touched your life in ways they might not even know. Tell them at the top of the post how or what they did to improve your life, if not for a single moment. Believe me, it will mean more to them than you could ever know. Forget about Valentine's Day! Let's start a Feel Good Revolution. It's the Simple Solution and who knows how far it could go.

And while you do that, I will continue frosting my cookies. Good luck, Friends!!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page